Royce Welcomes New Research Area Leads

As a number of Royce Research Area Leads (RALS) reach the end of their term of office, Royce is delighted to welcome a new cadre of RALS to the Institute. Royce Research Area Leads provide strategic leadership both across Royce and within their Research Area and support its wider development nationally and internationally.

Commenting on the new RAL appointments, Professor David Knowles said:

“On behalf of the Royce Leadership Team, I’m delighted to welcome such a diverse group of talented individuals into the core team at the Institute. The Research Area Lead is a key strategic role within Royce, and these expert individuals not only shape our research direction, but also have a responsibility to energise their Steering Groups, to drive meaningful engagement across industry, and other national and international institutes and to contribute to national science policy.

“I would like to take the opportunity to thank our outgoing Research Area Leads – Professor Alessandro Troisi (CMD), Professor Richard Curry (A2D), Professor Neil Alford (A2D), Professor Vladimir Falko (2DM), Dr Brian Connolly (MS4DE) and Professor Martin Jackson (AMP).  Collectively, over the past three or more years they have developed fantastic activities that have both brought together research communities and created ground-breaking programmes of research, with both industry and academia.”

New Research Area Leads


Dr Gabriella Pizzuto  –   Chemical Materials Design (CMD)


Dr Jessica BolandAtoms to Devices (A2D)

Professor Rahul Raveendran Nair – (2DM Two Dimensional Materials)

Professor Fabio SceniniMaterials Systems for Demanding Environments (MS4DE)


Professor Katerina ChristofidouAdvanced Metals Processing


Royce is also pleased to confirm the re-appointment of the following RALs: Dr Jonny Blaker, Dr Ed Pickering (Manchester), Professor Manish Chhowalla (Cambridge), Professor Robert Weatherup (Oxford), Professor Edmund Linfield (Leeds)

Time allocated to Royce RAL activity is funded thought the Institute’s Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) core funding settlement.