Oxford University

University of Oxford

Home / Partners / University of Oxford


The University of Oxford’s distinctive structure, born of its history, is a collegiate university, consisting of the central University and colleges. The 38 colleges are self-governing and financially independent institutions, which are related to the central University in a federal system. Oxford is a world-leading centre of learning, teaching and research and the oldest university in the English-speaking world, with 52 Noble prize winners. Today over 140 countries and territories are represented in the student body and the university contributes around £5.8 billion to the UK economy.


Royce Facilities

Energy Storage
Core Research Area

Energy Storage

A new national initiative, The Faraday Institution, is being established. A joint set of research priorities will be developed between the Faraday Institution and Royce to exploit joint opportunities to the maximum potential. The University is also providing a suite of state-of-the-art facilities and equipment focused on the analysis of energy materials and the development of next generation energy storage solutions.

Core Research Area

Better energy storage materials are required for the electrification of transport and for decarbonisation of the grid. The Royce research area focuses on batteries, supercapacitors and thermoelectrics in an effort to solve the materials and engineering challenges involved in the all-solid-state battery. This could transform the safety of Li-ion batteries, enable the use of lithium metal electrodes delivering a step-change in energy density, and lead to safe electric vehicles with a driving range of more than 300 miles and faster charging. The global market in lithium batteries is growing exponentially, and forecast to reach £50bn in 2020. It is anticipated that the UK will require the equivalent of two gigafactories for electric vehicles alone by 2025.

Royce Stars